Home » Parenting » Beauty is in the eye of the toddler

Beauty is in the eye of the toddler

A moment I witnessed my son having on a brisk fall day inspired me to revisit my blog. I want to hold onto this moment forever and the best way I know how is to write it down.

Cole took his stuffed animals for a walk the other day in his new red wagon. As we strolled down the driveway and took a right onto the street he looked back every once in a while to make sure all his “friends” were still seated in the upright position.

All of a sudden a long gust of wind blew. Cole dropped the handle of his wagon, a huge smile plastered across his face. The wind blew leaves all around him and he started to spin and dance in the middle of the street. He giggled and shrieked uncontrollably, exclaiming, “The wind! The wind, Mommy!” in between spins. The scene lasted only 20 seconds or so, but the joy I witnessed in my son has left an imprint in my heart that will last forever.

From lining up his stuffed animals one by one to breaking out in a spontaneous wind dance in the middle of the street. The yin and yang of a toddler. They expect and trust order and routine, but then there are these unexpected moments of spontaneity that add so much color and joy that you can’t help but join in on the fun.

It’s moments like these that remind me of why I love being a mom so much!

Leave a Reply

