Home » Pregnancy » 30 Weeks and Counting

30 Weeks and Counting

Each trimester during pregnancy is filled with new sensations and distinct characteristics.  The changes that we experience during the 9-10 month journey are both physical and emotional.

The first trimester for me felt like walking on egg shells.  Every day that the baby-to-be was safe in my belly felt like an accomplishment.  I just kept my mind focused on getting through the 12 week mark when the risk of having a miscarriage drops significantly.  I can remember feeling a sense of panic anytime I felt a twinge of stomach pain!  And even though it went against all logic, I can remember feeling nervous swimming in the lake for fear that I would be kicking my legs to hard and I would hurt the baby.  Looking back this all seems pretty melodramatic and silly.  I should have given more credit to the resilience of the baby and the strength of my body.  I chalk it up to the fact that I was already in love with this little being growing inside of me…and at that point he was only the size of a small shrimp!

I can understand why the second trimester is dubbed “the honeymoon period” now that I’m in the third trimester.  Besides a bit of fatigue, the second trimester rocked.  Nausea went away, less blood draws were needed, a cute little baby bump formed, and the baby was developing perfectly.  We found out we were having a boy, felt him move for the very first time, and even got to see the little guy on several ultra sounds!

The best part about the third trimester is that I’m getting closer and closer to meeting my little man!  Greg and I daydream together about who he might look like and what his personality will be like.  We’ve name our baby Cole and it’s so fun to rub my belly and talk to him, read to him, and feel the ripples in my stomach as he squirms around.  Okay, okay…some of the “squirms” are more like sharp kicks to ribs 🙂  The third trimester also comes with a lot of worry and changes that I’m learning to cope with.  Am I staying calm enough?  Am I gaining the right amount of weight?  What will labor be like for me?

Although each woman experiences pregnancy differently, I can say with confidence that the common trait that bring us all together is flexibility .

Flexibility is the quality of being bent without breaking.  It’s obvious that pregnant women need to be flexible to endure the physical challenges during pregnancy and labor.  And let’s take a moment of silence here to appreciate how amazing the female body is to be able to house and deliver a human being!  The less obvious way in which pregnant women need to be flexible is in the emotional sense.  It’s not about “YOU” anymore, but all about the little miracle growing in your belly.  But it’s not like as soon as your pregnant you can just snap your fingers and you can fully focus on your baby.  We get up in the morning and go about our business as if we don’t have raging hormones and as if we aren’t carrying 20 – 30 pounds of additional weight.  What I have learned is that it’s okay to ask for help, and people will understand.  Because there is only so far we can bend without breaking.

I’ve learned a lot about myself over the past 30 weeks; there has been a new lesson learned during each trimester.  I feel like I’ve grown as a person, and also that I’ve grown in my relationship with Greg.  The most exciting part of it all is that this is just the beginning and the best is yet to come!

Happy Holidays, Everyone!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “30 Weeks and Counting

  1. u always make me smile with tales of your baby journey! I think you are an amazing woman and you are going to be an amazing mom! Cole already has so many people that love him…he will be so loved! I am excited to meet him! Matt and I love you and Greg so much and are here for you guys if you need ANYTHING!

  2. I love this blog tale the best Linds…I an so proud of you. You take my breath away watching you grow this wonderful little boy. No one can tell you how or what it is like to experience what you are going through, it is special and unique for every woman…The same with being a mom, Cole is yours and Gregs to love and nuture and you both will be fantastic..beyond fantastic!!! I can’t wait to hold Cole in my arms and introduce myself and whisper I love yous in his ears. xoxo

  3. I was worried about labor the first time. It is so hyped up. Seriously it was a piece of cake. Get the epidural and it will be a happy and peaceful time. Nothing to be worried about. No discomfort. No pain just easy.

  4. Linds,

    You certainly are in tune with the changes with your body. This trimester is the time to focus on the upcoming birth process. With Marissa I prepared my body to the letter of the instructions given to me. Her birth was text book perfect! This time is so important for you to prepare your body to give birth. Do the exercises,every nite to prepare your pelvis to deliver our Cole. This was a nightly routine for me. (Me, who hates to exercise). But it certainly paid off.
    I or Glen rubbed Cocoa lotion on my belly every nite. (I have minimal stretch marks). Practice your breathing techniques as well. If you do, during a normal delivery, they are invaluable. I was up & showered one hour after Riss was born. Ala natural, Joni

  5. You are going to do great pretty mama… labor is intense, insane and miraculous… don’t worry – you won’t process it until a few weeks later ;o)
    We are MADE for it.
    You will do amazing! Thinking of and praying for you and baby Cole ❤

Leave a Reply

