Home » Uncategorized » Baby B travels to Lake Champlain

Baby B travels to Lake Champlain

Nestled between the Adirondack Mountains in New York and the Green Mountains in Vermont is Lake Champlain.  Greg and I booked a trip last year with a group of friends to stay on Garden Island on Lake Champlain.  The vacation was planned long in advance…unlike Baby Benson.  In fact, when Greg and I decided to start a family, we thought it might take awhile, and that there would be no way I’d be pregnant for this fun-filled vacation full of lake activities.  However, Baby B had other plans, so up we go to Lake Champlain – 9 weeks pregnant.

I have always loved the water.  My Dad’s side of the family has enjoyed Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire for generations, which is where this passion stems from.  Many of my first memories are from my summers at the lake.  Whether it’s swimming, water skiing, tubing, knee boarding, wake boarding – I love it all, and I’ve been doing it for a long time.  As you can see from the photo below, my Dad might have had something to do with it:

Dad teaching me to ski

So you can imagine how excited I was to be spending an entire week on Lake Champlain, one of the most beautiful lakes in the country!  Well, something happens when your pregnant.  You lose a lot of your energy, and a lot of activities become dangerous for the baby.  So here I was on Lake Champlain and instead of tubing with everyone, I was napping on the hammock.  Not that there is anything wrong with napping!  The cool thing is that three ladies on the trip were pregnant, and each of us represented a different trimester.  It was nice to have other people in the same boat as you – pun intended.  We are all so excited to have kids at the same time!

Our week on Garden Island was one of the best  vacations I’ve ever had.  We got to explore the island, paddle boat, swim, and just RELAX!  The sunset on Garden Island was breathtaking, and although Baby B couldn’t see how beautiful it was, I hope he/she could feel my happiness.

The Benson’s first family (sort of) vacation was wonderful!  And next time we visit Garden Island, Baby B can wear this tee-shirt!!



Leave a Reply

