Home » Uncategorized » The Gummy Bear Stage

The Gummy Bear Stage

During my eighth week of pregnancy there are several things I know for sure:

  1. Mexican food is gross
  2. Green grapes are God’s gift to my stomach
  3. All pregnant woman should be allowed an afternoon nap
  4. My baby is the size of a kidney bean
  5. I’m about to see my baby for the first time via ultra sound

Being a first-time mom I have no idea what to expect at this ultra sound. Questions are rolling through my mind.  Will I be able to see anything? Will there be a heartbeat?  How will Greg react?  Will the baby be growing properly?  Am I eating enough healthy foods?  The list goes on…

My overworked brain freezes the moment I see that beautiful little blob on the screen and see the heart beat flickering.  I’m told that my estimated due date is March 7th and the baby’s heartbeat is 151 beats per minute.  Perfection. The ultra sound tech calls this the gummy bear stage – makes sense, right?

Seeing the baby changes everything.  I realize that I’m no longer the most important person in my world.  Greg and I step outside and look at each other with giddy grins on our faces.  It’s official.  We are going be parents!

6 thoughts on “The Gummy Bear Stage

  1. It’s just an amazing journey…and I know that you are just sucking up every minute of it.
    ..and seriously “eating right” LOL, have an ice cream it goes with gummy bears!

  2. I will never forget the first time seeing Jadyn and she smiling ear to ear and could just feel tears running town the side of my face. I remember the ultrasound tech telling me to stop laughing cause she couldn’t get a good picture. I just felt this joy all over and couldn’t stop laughing . . . leave it to me! haha The crazy part is, that you wouldn’t think you could feel that type of joy again but when you have another baby the same joy happens all over 🙂

  3. I will never forget the first time seeing Jadyn and smiling ear to ear and could just feel tears running town the side of my face. I remember the ultrasound tech telling me to stop laughing cause she couldn’t get a good picture. I just felt this joy all over and couldn’t stop laughing . . . leave it to me! haha The crazy part is, that you wouldn’t think you could feel that type of joy again but when you have another baby the same joy happens all over 🙂

  4. I remember the first time I met you. I asked you: “Do you have any kids?” And my husband scold me.. “This is not the kind of question when you meet someone for the first time!”
    I had my Tommaso in my lap… He was maybe 9/10 months old, and for me it was the most natural think of the world for a woman….It is such an incredible experience! I lived my first pregnancy far away from my husband… and felt the double burden of responsability for the “little us” that was growing inside me! Every little sign was a huge discover! I was terrified, excited, scared, happy… all in the blink of an eye!

    I’m so happy for you… Suck every single moment! The first pregnancy is such an excitement….
    So happy for you and Greg!

    PS: I remember being 4 months pregnant and crying horrified because the news on tv said a baby whale was lost and was wondering around the same area for days looking for his mommy: That’s the hormonal part of pregnancy… Greg will “enjoy” all of it!!!! 🙂
    Anna

Leave a Reply

