Home » Recipes » Using quinoa flour in baked goods

Using quinoa flour in baked goods

I love quinoa because it’s an amazing source of protein. I cook it in vegetable broth and served it with all sorts of colorful vegetables for a healthy meal that tastes great. I’ve known that quinoa is a versatile grain, but I never would have thought to use it in baked goods and in breakfast foods…until today. During my weekly visit to Whole Foods I stumbled upon a box of quinoa flour.  Visions of new and improved protein-packed pancakes, waffles, and breads danced around in my mind. All of which happen to fall on Cole’s list of favorite foods, so it’s a win/win for mom and baby. Of course I couldn’t wait to bake something to test out the tastiness of quinoa flour so I made an apple bread tonight. Here is the recipe:

2 1/2 cups quinoa flour
1 1/2 cups apple sauce
1/2 cup butter
1 cup natural sugar
1 apple, grated
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
3 eggs

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and sugar together. Beat eggs one at a time. Stir in applesauce, grated apple, and vanilla. In separate bowl stir together remaining dry ingredients. Add to wet mixture and stir until well combined. Put into an oiled 5 X 7 loaf pan. Bake at 350 for 50 – 60 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before removing from pan.

Note: You can easily make this vegan by using earth balance butter and replacing eggs with 1/3 cup vegetable oil. I think me and quinoa flour will get along just fine…:)

Leave a Reply

