Home » Uncategorized » Lentil soup with sweet potatoes and spinach

Lentil soup with sweet potatoes and spinach

I’m always looking for quick, easy, and healthy meals for my family.  Now that Cole is eating more solid foods I’ve been making meals that he can enjoy with us. Soups are easy because I can make them ahead of time in the crock pot, and they can be made with a variety of vegetable and bean combinations. I came across a recipe for lentil soup on one of my favorite food blogs, Two Peas & Their Pod, tweaked it just a bit and it came out delicious.  It’s never crossed my mind to put sweet potato into a soup – what a brilliant idea! I hope you enjoy this hearty soup on a brisk winter day.

Ingredients
1 cup of lentils
1 large sweet potato
2 medium size carrots
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 carton of vegetable broth (32 oz)
2 big handfuls fresh spinach, chopped
1 bay leaf
Oregano
Salt
Pepper

Recipe
Place all the ingredients, except the spinach, into the slow cooker and cook on low for 6 – 7 hours. Five minutes before serving remove the bay leaf and add the fresh spinach. Add more seasoning to taste. Enjoy and let me know what you think!

One thought on “Lentil soup with sweet potatoes and spinach

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Crock pot lentil soup with sweet potatoes and spinach | Love Notes & Growth Spurts

Leave a Reply

