Home » Activity » Music Together review – Old Colony

Music Together review – Old Colony

My son is 10 months old and loves to bop to the rhythm of music. I thought what better way to encourage his reaction to sounds and vibrations than with a music class?  We attended our first Music Together class this December and had an amazing experience.

Music Together is an international early childhood music program. One of my favorite characteristics of the class is the span of ages of the children. There was a baby younger than Cole that he could crawl over to, as well as a couple of children older than him that he could watch and  try to mimic. We sang, danced, and played with a whole bag full of instruments. Cole’s personal favorite was the bongo. My husband is a drummer; like father like son?

We were given a CD called Family Favorites as part of the class tuition. However, you can buy this album from their website even if you don’t attend one of their classes, and I seriously recommend that you do if you have kids. The collection of songs is not only perfect for our little ones, but is also easy to listen to from an adult perspective.  I sing the Hello Song to him when he wakes up every morning and the She Sells Sea Shells as a lullaby before naps and bedtimes. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that when the Stick Tune comes on I can’t help but dance around my kitchen pretending I’m a professional percussionist. More cowbell, please!

I can guarantee this will not be the last Music Together class that Cole experiences with me and his Dad. I’m willing to bet their is a class close to you too, so please check it out, you won’t regret it! What a perfect time now that the weather is getting colder and we need fun indoor activities.

Playing guitar with Grandpa

Leave a Reply

